Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake

IMG_6422

 

If you love Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, than this is the cake for you! This cake was for a 30th Birthday and I was told “he likes chocolate and peanut butter” so that what I did! I made a chocolate cake and divided it in between two 8″ pans and then cut those layers in half because I wanted to give the cake a little more height. I also decided I wanted you to be able to see the chocolate cake, so you knew it was chocolate and peanut butter. This means you sacrifice frosting on  the outside of the cake and I am not really about that so I wanted to add extra frosting inside, so four layers of cakes gives you more layers to frost, win win. I made my basic buttercream frosting and then added creamy peanut butter to it. This is not some stroke of genius and didn’t take any skill obviously but the result was very tasty if you ask me! I added peanut butter frosting on top of the  cake layers and on each layer I added chopped up Reese’s and just did a barely covered frosting on the outside and the top of the cake. Next I made a chocolate ganache and drizzled it over the top of the cake, then piped more frosting on the top and added mini peanut butter cups on the top. I am not even that big of a peanut butter fan but it smelled so good by the time I got done it was hard not to take a piece!

Leave a Reply

