FullSizeRender

So I usually make a pie for the 4th of July and since I was traveling I missed it, but pie cannot be missed! I decided I needed to to make it anyway! I’m always trying to perfect fruit pie, so I decided I would make raspberry pie since raspberries are one of my favorite fruits. I have had a love affair with pie ever since I watched the show Pushing Daisies, if you haven’t seen it you need to, it’s the best! And every time I make a pie I almost always watch and episode or two.
So this pie I used a Pâte Brisée crust, no idea what that means but it’s a really great recipe I found from Martha Stewart, I trust Martha, she generally knows what she is doing. Then I mixed up the berries with sugar, lemon juice, sugar, cornstarch, salt and a little vanilla powder(cause why not). Mixed it all together then put it in the pie shell. Next I took the extra dough and did several small braids and cut out some flower shapes for the top. I did a lattice pattern with the braids and placed the flowers in between the lattices. Next I brushed with cream and sprinkled sugar on the top and baked! The finished product was great, just enough tartness and sweetness and the crust was great!

Leave a Reply

