Blackberry Upside Down Cake

FullSizeRender

 

Is it just me or does everyone think summer is the perfect time for all your desserts to have fruit in them! I love most fruits and just love blackberries so I thought it would be fun to have a twist on a pineapple upside down cake (which I am also a fan of, maybe a future post 😉 ) So I put down a layer of blackberries on the bottom of two 6″ cake pans, then I mixed up my white cake recipe and poured over the top of the cake, baked them and hoped it didn’t turn in to a mess on the bottom. Thankfully when I flipped them out of the cake pans they didn’t fall apart!

Next I mixed up a Swiss Meringue Buttercream. This was a new recipe to try, you have to heat up the egg whites and sugar over a double boiler. Then you move it to a stand mixer and whip it until it looks similar to a meringue(hence the name) then you add in butter and mix until its fluffy! The recipe is a little more labor intensive but the result is so good! I leveled the cakes and layered them with the buttercream and topped them with some more fresh blackberries! This cake is perfect for summer time!

Leave a Reply

