Star Wars!

IMG_5669

This week was the 40 year anniversary of the first Star Wars movie!  No, I was not alive when the first film came out but I grew up watching Star Wars.  In my family Star Wars is a right of passage you must watch them and love them.  So in honor of 40 years I wanted to do something fun.  I made some Star Wars sugar cookies and some Galactic cupcakes to go with them!

I used a chocolate sugar cookie recipe and used some Star Wars cookie cutters and then iced them to look like the characters from the movies.  For the cupcakes I was actually trying out a new recipe for chocolate cupcakes.  I am still undecided on whether I like it better than my other recipe (guess that means I will have to make more cupcakes 🙂 ).  I frosted the cupcakes with Galactic frosting to give them that outer space feel and look.  I think they turned out great.  I made a buttercream frosting for the cupcakes and then mixed different food coloring into separate bowls with the frosting.  I put some of each of the colors into a piping bag and then piped it onto the cupcakes.  After I finished frosting them I sprinkled some edible glitter on top to give them the final touch of space.

So happy anniversary to Star Wars and may the force be with you!

Leave a Reply

